© Copyright The Rising Sun Free House 2019. All rights reserved
The Rising Sun Free House pub is set in a 17th century building in Sun Street, Isleham, and has been a public house since the early 1900s. Run by landlords Patrick and Clare Pearce, it is a local family friendly pub. We have a children’s play area in our patio garden, great home cooked food, guest beers, award winning Guinness, entertainment some weekends and newly renovated and refurbished (in March 2015) accommodation in a separate building adjacent to the Pub. We hold a 5 out of 5 Food Hygiene rating from the Food Standards Agency.
About the Village of Isleham and the Local Area
Landlords: Patrick and Claire Pearce
The picturesque village of Isleham is located in the Fens of south-east Cambridgeshire with a population of around 2,300. Isleham is twinned with Nesles in France and Magdala in Germany. The village has a Co-Op Store (open 7am-10pm 7 days a week), a local butchers/farm shop and a Post Office. There are 3 churches within the village. The village has a large recreation ground with a newly built community centre and children’s play area in 2014. Many football and cricket teams, a large Scouting presence and a Nature Reserve and are all within walking distance of The Rising Sun.
Isleham is an ideal location from which to explore the local area by car or bicycle.
Local attractions include Duxford Imperial War Museum, History Cambridge City Centre and its world famous University and Colleges, Ely Cathedral, Thetford Forest, Anglesey Abbey, Newmarket Racecourses, Wicken Fen, The National Horseracing Museum, and The National Stud.
The city of Ely is approx. 9 miles drive from Isleham, with the towns of Soham, Newmarket and Mildenhall all being approx. 6 miles away. The city of Cambridge is only 20 miles from Isleham.
On May 3, 1850, world famous christian preacher Charles Spurgeon was baptised at Isleham Fen in the river Lark. To this day, a stone marks the location.
The Isleham Priory “Priory of St Margaret of Antioch” still stands in Isleham. It was founded in the village in the year 1090 AD. It was administered directly from France and, as such, was dissolved in 1414. It was later used as a barn, and over the last few decades is now listed and is looked after by English Heritage.
St Andrew's Parish Church in the village is the burial site for important ancestors of the Peyton family. Many visitors from around the world who have Peyton ancestors visit the Church throughout the year, and obtain rubbings of the famous brasses decorating the monuments.